PREFACE

WHY SCOREKEEPING IS IMPORTANT

Baseball is unique. There is no other team sport that lends itself so exceptionally well to being kept track of with simple abbreviations written on a simple grid. 

Casual scorekeeping is a wonderful adjunct to taking in a ball game for countless baseball fans around the world. After all, it’s fun to keep score; and when you’re doing it just for your own amusement, there isn’t any compelling need to “dot” every “i” and “cross” every “t”. 

However, serious scorekeeping – including official scorekeeping – is different. To perform it properly and accurately requires a thorough knowledge of the rules that govern scorekeeping – and those rules must be followed scrupulously in order to ensure that the data that it generates is valid and true.

Moreover – in a very real sense – the official scorer is a part of the game, and he or she fulfills an important function in baseball. While that function may not always be immediately obvious, it is nonetheless critical to the game as we know it.

Many rules in the official baseball rulebook apply either directly or indirectly to the scoring of baseball games. Unfortunately, many of them are written in language that is (to be charitable) far from being a model of clarity. In fact, they are often complex and confusing. Given the difficulties that frequently arise in dealing with them, one might wonder why anyone would bother to keep track of anything more than the bare-boned basics of the game being scored. Why even try to comply with the complicated gibberish that is so often found in the text of the rules governing scorekeeping? After all, when all is said and done, doesn’t it just come down to which team accumulated the most runs – who won and who lost? Why take the time and trouble to deal with all the technicalities and fine points? Why even have an official scorer and official rules of scorekeeping? 

The answer is simple: What is referred to in baseball as a scorekeeper or scorer is in reality a statistics keeper, and he or she is called upon to do far more than just keep track of runs and outs and report the final score. In fact, the official scorer is obliged to record (accurately, and in strict conformity with the rules governing scorekeeping) all the information and data necessary to compute the myriad statistics associated with the game of baseball.

The very idea of having an official scorer and official rules of scorekeeping comes from the fact that statistics are a well-established and important component of baseball. Box scores, batting averages, streaks and the like, are all essential parts of the enjoyment, appreciation, and understanding of baseball. Statistical records set, and statistical records broken, have always been a major aspect of the game. They often define the people and events that make up the ongoing chronicle and lore of baseball. In addition, statistics allow comparison of teams, players, seasons, or what have you, thereby creating fuel and fodder for discussion and debate at all levels of the game. 

There is no doubt that detailed statistics constitute a significant element of the game – and without consistent, accurate, and comprehensive scorekeeping, there would be no authoritative and reliable data from which to generate valid and meaningful statistics. And if statistics were not a part of the game, and the history of baseball was limited to nothing more than a chronology of games won or lost, the national pastime would be quite threadbare in contrast to the remarkable ongoing mosaic of storied achievements that it is. 

Consequently, having a set of rules for scorekeepers to follow advances the goal of consistency in scorekeeping – so that, for example, an RBI, a sacrifice bunt, or an earned run is recognized and recorded in the same fashion everywhere and all the time – regardless of when or where a particular game is being played, or who the official scorer might be. This, in turn, enhances the credibility of the game’s statistical records.

Accordingly, 

· Scorekeeping performed in strict conformity with the rules of scorekeeping generates valid data. 

· Valid and consistent data generates reliable statistics. 

· Reliable statistics are at the very foundation of the game of baseball as it is now, and has been for decades, known and enjoyed throughout the world.

That being the case, “scorekeeping” – and its rules – are an essential part of baseball. That is why “scorekeeping” is important. 

***

RULE 10.08(f)

HOW TO PROPERLY SCORE A RUNNER’S ATTEMPT 

TO STEAL A BASE WHEN HE IS CALLED SAFE

DUE TO A DROPPED THROW
(HOW A RUNNER CAN BE CAUGHT STEALING

EVEN THOUGH HE WASN’T PUT OUT)

Under Rule 10.08(f), a stolen base is not credited to a runner trying to steal a base if (in the judgment of the official scorekeeper) the runner is called safe at the base he is trying to steal due solely to a “muffed” throw, such as a good throw that is not cleanly caught. In that case, the player who made the good throw is credited with an assist; the player who “muffed” the throw is charged with an error; and the runner (although safe) is charged with a caught stealing. 

Note that Rule 10.08(f) neatly epitomizes three of the bedrock fundamental concepts of scorekeeping:

1). 
Everything done in a game that deserves credit should be recorded and credited to the appropriate player;

2). 
Everything done in a game that deserves blame should be recorded and charged to the appropriate player; and,

3). 
The advancement of each player from each base to each base should be accurately recorded and accounted for consistent with the letter and spirit of the rules of baseball scorekeeping.

Typically, the throw in plays covered by Rule 10.08(f) comes from the catcher. If the catcher made a throw clearly good enough to put out the stealing runner, then logic and fairness – as well as Rule 10.08(f) – demand that he should get credit for that good throw regardless of how it ended up being handled by the player receiving that throw. Therefore, the catcher gets an assist in this situation.

Moreover, if the catcher’s good throw did not result in a putout because the fielder covering the base failed to catch the catcher’s good throw, that error is justly charged to that fielder.

In addition, if the runner ends up safe at the base because the catcher’s good throw was muffed, the runner should not get credit for a stolen base. Moreover, he should be charged with what he deserves, a caught stealing, even though he ended up being safe.

***

RULE 10.14(c)

NO ERROR IS PROPERLY CHARGED ON A WILD THROW MADE TO COMPLETE A DOUBLE OR TRIPLE PLAY

(YOU CAN’T ASSUME A DOUBLE PLAY)

When a defensive player makes a throw to complete a double or triple play, and that throw is a wild throw, the defensive player who made the throw is not properly charged with an error under the provisions of Rule 10.14(c). However, if the wild throw allows any runner to advance further than he would have had the throw not been wild, charging an error to the defensive player who threw the ball is appropriate. 


Consider the fact that double plays are not easily made, and triple plays are even harder to accomplish. Far more often than not, a number of difficult fielding skills – all well executed by a number of different fielders – must all come together in only a matter of few seconds for a multiple-out play to be pulled off successfully. 

Even in a routine 6–4–3 double play situation, in order to successfully turn the double play, the second baseman must 1) catch the throw from the shortstop (be it good or not so good) and touch (more or less) second base in order to put out of the runner coming from first base, 2) avoid being crashed into by the runner (who is most likely trying his best to break up the double play) so that he can get off an accurate throw to first base, pivot, and make an accurate throw to first base all before the batter (most likely running hard out of the batter’s box to avoid the double play) arrives at first base (and that’s just what the second baseman must accomplish!).

Therefore, it is only fair to overlook a wild/bad throw on the part of the second baseman (or any other fielder for that matter) in situations such as this. It would be unrealistic, and despotic, to require that a double play be completed every time the opportunity presents itself, and to charge an error each time the defensive team fails to turn two.

However, if the throw to first base is so wild/bad that the batter not only makes it to first base safely, but advances even further – and/or another runner or runners advance on the wild throw – the ramification of the throwing error is simply too great to be ignored. And since the advancement of each runner from each base to each base must be accounted for, an error is properly charged because of the advancement (even though no error would be charged merely because the throw wasn’t good enough to complete the double play).

The upshot of Rule 10.14(c) is the often-heard expression in baseball scorekeeping: “You can’t assume a double play”. This simply means that a scorer cannot fairly hypothesize that the second out of a double play would have been achieved if the throw made to conclude the double play had not been wild/bad. Determining whether to record an error on that throw would be a highly subjective decision. Therefore, an error is not charged on a wild/bad throw that might have completed a double or triple play - unless it leads to further advancement by a runner or runners.

However, what is often overlooked and forgotten is Rule 10.14(c)’s note.

IF A FIELDER MUFFS A WELL THROWN BALL 

THAT WOULD HAVE COMPLETED A DOUBLE OR 

TRIPLE PLAY, AN ERROR IS PROPERLY CHARGED

[YOU CAN ASSUME A DOUBLE PLAY (SOMETIMES)]
Rule 10.14(c)’s note specifies that in the event a defensive player muffs a threw that would have achieved a double play or a triple play if he had not dropped the throw, that defensive player is to be charged with an error. In addition, the fielder who made the throw is to be credited with an assist.

In other words, (going back to the routine 6–4–3 double play situation), it would be altogether unreasonable and unfair to invariably require that the second baseman make a good throw in order for him to avoid being charged with an error in every potential double play situation. At the same time, if the second baseman’s throw is a good one, and the batter is safe at first base only because the first baseman muffed the second baseman’s well thrown ball, there is no guesswork or presumption involved. You know that if the first baseman had simply made the catch – employing no more than ordinary effort – the batter would have been put out at first base and the double play would have been accomplished.

Therefore, it is illogical to extend the idea of not assuming double plays to situations where the fielder (be it a first baseman or any other fielder) at the conclusion of what could have been or should have been a successful double play or triple play commits an obvious error. To overlook that error would be to ignore reality and deprive the fielder who made the good throw credit for a well-deserved assist.

On the whole, relying on the maxim of not “assuming” double plays is (in most instances) both a safe and proper thing to do. However, it should always be borne in mind that it should not be taken too far by applying it to every situation where what could have been or should have been a double play or triple play is blown. To do so would ignore both the letter and the spirit of Rule 10.14(c)’s “note”, and thereby do harm to the game’s statistics.

In short, there are situations where a failure to complete a double play can in fact lead to an error being properly charged, and that fact should not be overlooked simply because – in most instances – “you can’t assume a double play”.
